BEAUTY · DRUGSTORE. · SKINCARE

L’Oreal Paris Hydra Genius Liquid Care Sensitive Skin

L'Oreal Hydra Genuis 1

L’Oreal’s skincare range isn’t something I have tried much from, when I think of L’Oreal, I think of make up or hair care, not skincare, so when I saw these in Boots recently I thought sure why not pick it up and try it.

I have dry skin and need a lot of hydration and moisture so I’m all about anything that promises to give me that. This product claims to lock in moisture for up to 72 hours. It contains Aloe Water and Hyaluronic Acid which are fantastic for dry skin.

The following information is from L’Oreal UK

BENEFITS

Inspired by Asian skincare, L’Oréal Paris Laboratories introduces THE LIQUID CARE. Hydra Genius Dry & Sensitive Skin delivers pure moisture that penetrates quickly, deeply and continuously – without overloading the skin.

INSTANTLY REFRESHES:
Immediately absorbed, the water-like texture rehydrates and reinvigorates the skin.

INSTANTLY LOCKS IN MOISTURE:
The water based moisturiser penetrates deeply for a healthy-looking glow.

72-HR RECHARGE:
Aloe water releases continuous hydration and drenches the skin with moisture for up to 72 hours.
The Liquid Care: fresh as water, hydrating as a cream

  • Locks in moisture for 72-hrs
  • Enriched with Aloe Water & Hyaluronic Acid
  • Instantly refreshes
  • For dry & sensitive skin

This product makes some hefty claims; locks in moisture for up to 72 hours, rehydrates and reinvigorates the skin and instantly refreshes the skin.

I’ve been using this for approximately three weeks now and frankly, I don’t think all that much of this moisturiser. It certainly does not live to up the claims it makes.

I don’t find that is refreshes my skin at all, it provides little to no hydration and it does not leave my skin feeling moisturised, at all. After it absorbs into my skin my skin feels dry and almost as if I hadn’t put any moisturiser at all on. It does nothing for my skin, nothing at all. I am very disappointed in it.

I tried mixing this with my regular moisturiser and I felt as if I hadn’t put enough moisturiser on, now when I used my moisturiser alone my skin felt moisturised and it looked great, but when I mixed this in with it, it’s like my moisturiser didn’t work as well as it would on it’s own. It was so weird. I don’t understand how that happened or what happened but this product just does not work for me unfortunately.

The moisturiser itself has a very thin consistency and it absorbs quickly without leaving a film or tacky/sticky feeling on the skin.

L'Oreal Hydra Genuis 2

The packaging is okay too, the moisturiser in a blue coloured glass bottle that is heavy for what it is. It has a blue plastic pump and a clear plastic lid. I like that it has a pump as it’s easy to dispense the amount you need.

L'Oreal Hydra Genuis 3

The bottle is heavy though, it’s not something I’d bring travelling because of it’s weight. I would put some of the moisturiser into a plastic bottle/tube instead to make it more travel friendly.

I picked this up in Boots and paid €8.66 for it, so it isn’t expensive, it is a great price and it might be for you if you need a little hydration but for me it is something I will be passing on unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

